Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons (CCW)

Britische Armee zerstoert Panzerminen - rascher Vormarsch Enlarge image (© picture-alliance / dpa) The Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons from 1980 prohibits particular types of weapons that cause excessive suffering or have indiscriminatory effects.

Specific weapons are regulated and restricted or banned in five annexed protocols:

1.     Weapons that leave non-detectable fragments in the human body

2.     Mines, booby-traps and other devices

3.     Incendiary weapons

4.     Blinding laser weapons

5.     Explosive remnants of war

Within the CCW setting, discussions about the necessity of a regulatory framework for Lethal Autonomous Weapon Systems (LAWS) and Explosive Weapons in Populated Areas (EWIPA) take place. Germany promotes a stronger engagement of the international community in these topics.