Human Rights “Check-Up” of fourteen UN member states in Geneva

May 2, 2017

Human Rights Council Room in the Palais des Nations in Geneva Enlarge image (© Unog/Jean-Mark Ferre)

From 1st to 12th May the Human Rights Council looks into fourteen states’ respect, protection and fulfillment of human rights. Algeria, Bahrain, Brazil, Ecuador, Finland, India, Indonesia, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, South Africa, Tunisia and United Kingdom participate in the “Universal Periodic Review” (UPR) for the third time already.

It is the respective country`s right to present its position at the beginning of each 3.5-hour-dialogue. Afterwards, every UN memberstate can offer recommendations which the addressed government may either accept or take note of (i.e. reject). 

Unlike those expert committees which review the compliance with key human rights conventions (such as the Convention on the Rights of the Child), UPR is a cooperative procedure between member states. According to the NGO UPR Info, which has reported on the mechanism since its creation, the impact of UPR should not be underestimated: In the first 19 sessions almost 75% of roughly 55.000 recommendations were accepted. Moreover, while the implementation of these recommendations finally rests on the discretion of the respective states and their governments, UPR Info shows in an analysis of the first-4-year-cycle of UPR that 55% of all recommendations were wholly or partially fulfilled.

Civil society organizations such as NGOs play a crucial role during UPR`s preparation and follow-up: The information compiled by civil society organizations serves –alongside the official report prepared by the concerned country and further summaries delivered by UN-institutions –  as an additional source of information for the elaboration of specific and appropriate recommendations. Additionally, NGOs can push governments to fulfill recommendations by steadily monitoring their efforts.

The German statement will be uploaded on the right side of this page.

© StV-G.Sch

10.05.2017: German Statement at the 27nd UPR on the Republic of South Africa

09.05.2017: German Statement on the Polish People's Republic at the 27nd UPR

08.05.2017: German Statement on the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria at the 27nd UPR

08.05.2017: German Statement on the Republic of the Philippines at the 27nd UPR

05.05.2017: German Statement on the Federative Republic of Brazil at the 27nd UPR

04.05.2017: German Statement on the Republic of India at the 27nd UPR

03.05.2017: German Statement on the Republic of Indonesia at the 27nd UPR

02.05.2017: German Statement on the Republic of Tunisia at the 27nd UPR.

01.05.2017: German Statement on the zur Republic of Ecuador at the 27nd UPR